Scientific committee


Director of the Summer School:
Prof. Laura Formenti, University of Milano Bicocca, Coordinator of the PhD
“Education in Contemporary Society” and Chair of ESREA


Joint Directors

Dr. Fergal Finnegan, National University of Ireland at Maynooth (NUIM), vice-Chair of ESREA
Prof. Jyri Manninen, University of Eastern Finland (UEF), Joensuu


Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee of the Summer School is composed by the members of the Steering Committee of ESREA, professors

  • Michel Alhadeff-Jones, Columbia University, NY, USA;
  • Andreas Fejes, Linköping University, Sweden;
  • Maria Gravani, Open University of Cyprus;
  • Bernd Käpplinger University of Giessen, Germany;
  • Emilio Lucio-Villegas Ramos, University of Seville, Spain;
  • Barbara Merrill, University of Warwick, UK;
  • Marcella Milana University of Verona;
  • Adrianna Nizińska, University of Gothenburg, Sweden;
  • Cristina Vieira, University of Coimbra, Portugal
And by a local board from the PhD program Education in Contemporary Society, Department of Human Sciences for Education,


  • Maria Grazia Riva, Director of the Department, General and Social Pedagogy
  • Claudia Baracchi, Moral Philosophy
  • Elisabetta Biffi, General and Social Pedagogy
  • Andrea Galimberti, General and Social Pedagogy
  • Elisabetta Nigris, Didactics
  • Cristina Palmieri, General and Social Pedagogy
  • Sergio Tramma, General and Social Pedagogy
  • Mario Vergani, Theoretical Philosophy
  • Guido Veronese, Clinical Psychology
  • Franca Zuccoli, Didactics